Skip to reports

Last updated 5 Oct 2026, 17:23 UTC · 17 reports · about 120 days

Loading globe…

Severitycriticalhighmedium

Reports over the last calendar year

Each bar is WHO Disease Outbreak News published that month, November 2025 through October 2026, split by severity. Colors match the wire when that bulletin is on this site; otherwise the section follows the disease named in the WHO title. The latest month is still open. Counts are reports, not cases.

Nov2025
Dec2025
Jan2026
Feb2026
Mar2026
Apr2026
May2026
Jun2026
Jul2026
Aug2026
Sept2026
Oct2026
  • Critical
  • High
  • Medium
WHO Disease Outbreak News items by month and severity
MonthCriticalHighMedium
Nov 2025012
Dec 2025023
Jan 2026020
Feb 2026011
Mar 2026001
Apr 2026011
May 2026034
Jun 2026311
Jul 2026200
Aug 2026300
Sept 2026200
Oct 2026000

Drag to rotate. Scroll, pinch, or use the buttons to zoom. Arrow keys work when the globe is focused. Choosing a place turns the globe so that pin faces you. Pin color is severity: yellow medium, orange high, red critical.

Locations

Reports

17 shown

Plague (suspected, unconfirmed)· high

Summary of the linked report · Preliminary

A laboratory employee at the Irkutsk Anti-Plague Research Institute in Shelekhov died after a pneumonia illness. Rospotrebnadzor, Russia's consumer-health agency, said the diagnosis was pneumonia of unknown origin, that expanded testing had not detected microorganisms associated with her work, and that the sanitary and epidemiological situation in Irkutsk and Shelekhov was stable. The head of neighboring Buryatia said she had died "possibly from the plague" and that Buryatia had no plague outbreaks. A U.S. State Department official said the department was aware of reports of a fatal suspected pneumonic plague case, that many details were not confirmed, and that it was monitoring the situation with CDC. Unofficial reports said nearly 200 contacts were under observation. ProMED's public homepage carried an alert headline describing pneumonic plague; a headline is not confirmation. Official and media accounts disagree. This card is preliminary.

1 deaths

One death is reported. Plague is not confirmed by the official diagnosis cited here, so no case total is shown.

Town named in public reports (the institute is in Shelekhov, near Irkutsk). This is not a confirmed community outbreak.

CNN: CNN — Researcher at Russian plague laboratory dies of an infection officials call unknown

Cholera· high

Summary of the linked report · Monitoring

ECDC's cholera overview, updated 28 September 2026, says that from 1 January through 28 September 2026, 249,136 cholera cases, including 1,970 deaths, were reported worldwide. From 26 August through 28 September it counts 46,153 new cases, including 140 new deaths. New cases in that window were reported from Afghanistan, Angola, Bangladesh, Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Haiti, Mozambique, Pakistan, Somalia, Yemen and Zambia. The five countries with the most new cases in the window ECDC highlights are Afghanistan (34,378), the Democratic Republic of the Congo (8,505), Yemen (1,885), Angola (748) and Congo (299). ECDC also names South Sudan among countries reporting new deaths in that window, without a separate new-case total in the summary. Pins are geographic centers of countries ECDC named. They are not transmission sites, and the case total on this card is worldwide.

249,136 cases · 1,970 deaths

Worldwide totals, 1 January–28 September 2026, as stated by ECDC. Not a count for any one pin.

ECDC: 34,378 new cases in the highlighted window. Country center, not a transmission site.

European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control: ECDC cholera worldwide overview, monthly update as of 28 September 2026

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Summary of the linked report

ECDC's week 40 Communicable Disease Threats Report (26 September–2 October 2026) says that on 30 September 2026 the Democratic Republic of the Congo reported 8,224 confirmed Bundibugyo virus disease cases, including 3,982 deaths, from data through 29 September. Seven provinces have been affected: Ituri, North Kivu, South Kivu, Tshopo, Haut-Uélé, Bas-Uélé and Sud Ubangi. The same report notes that a healthcare worker based in the DRC who tested positive on 29 September was medically evacuated to the Netherlands on 1 October. The case and death figures are national. Pins mark provincial administrative centers named by the report, not exact transmission sites.

8,224 cases · 3,982 deaths

National confirmed totals through 29 September 2026, as stated by ECDC. Not a count for any one pin.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a local case count.

European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control: ECDC Communicable Disease Threats Report, week 40, 2026 (PDF)

Avian influenza A(H5N1)· high

Summary of the linked report

ECDC's week 40 threat report states that on 28 September 2026 one laboratory-confirmed human case of avian influenza A(H5N1) was reported in Oddar Meanchey Province, Cambodia. The patient was a man in his forties who was hospitalised. The summary used here does not state an outcome beyond hospitalisation, so no death is shown.

1 cases

One laboratory-confirmed human case, as stated by ECDC.

Provincial reference point (Samraong). The source names the province, not a precise address.

European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control: ECDC Communicable Disease Threats Report, week 40, 2026 (PDF)

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· medium

Summary of the linked report

ECDC's week 40 threat report says a healthcare worker based in the Democratic Republic of the Congo tested positive for Bundibugyo virus on 29 September 2026 and was medically evacuated to the Netherlands on 1 October 2026 for specialised care. The report does not describe community transmission in the Netherlands. The pin is a country reference point only.

1 cases

One medically evacuated healthcare worker. Not a count of community cases in the Netherlands.

Country reference point for a single medical evacuation. Not a community outbreak and not a hospital address.

European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control: ECDC Communicable Disease Threats Report, week 40, 2026 (PDF)

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Source excerpt

Since the last Disease Outbreak News was published on 11 September 2026, the Bundibugyo virus outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo has expanded further, with two additional health zones affected. These include Bulu health zone in a new province, Sud Ubangi, located on the north-west part of the country and Dungu health zone in Haut-Uélé province, bordering South Sudan. This brings the total number of affected health zones to 63 across seven provinces out of 26 provinces of the country: Bas-Uélé, Haut-Uélé, Ituri, North Kivu, South Kivu, Sud Ubangi and Tshopo. This latest geographic expansion increases the risk of cross-border transmission. As of 23 September 2026, the Democratic Republic of the Congo has reported 7890 confirmed cases, including 3799 deaths, resulting in a crude case fatality ratio (CFR) of 48.1%.

7,890 cases · 3,799 deaths

Totals as stated in the source. Often national or event-wide, not for one map pin.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a precise outbreak coordinate, and not a local case count.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON618

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Source excerpt

Since the last Disease Outbreak News was published on 28 August 2026, the Bundibugyo virus outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo has expanded to one additional health zone, Kayna, in North Kivu. This increase brings the total number of affected health zones to 61 across six out of 26 provinces of the country: Bas-Uélé, Haut-Uélé, Ituri, North Kivu, South Kivu, and Tshopo. As of 7 September 2026, the Democratic Republic of the Congo has reported 6757 confirmed cases, including 3267 deaths, resulting in a crude case fatality ratio (CFR) of 48.3%.

6,757 cases · 3,267 deaths

Totals as stated in the source. Often national or event-wide, not for one map pin.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a precise outbreak coordinate, and not a local case count.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON617

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Source excerpt

Since the last Disease Outbreak News was published on 14 August 2026, the outbreak has spread from 54 to 60 health zones. The number of affected provinces stands at six out of 26 provinces of the country: Bas-Uélé, Haut-Uélé, Ituri, North Kivu, South Kivu, and Tshopo. Six additional health zones reported cases since the last update - Ganga and Viadana health zones in Bas-Uélé province, Biena, Manguredjipa, and Mutwanga in North Kivu, and Tshopo health zone in Tshopo province. As of 26 August 2026, a total of 5794 confirmed cases, including 2786 deaths, have been reported, corresponding to a crude case fatality ratio (CFR) of 48.1%.

5,794 cases · 2,786 deaths

Totals as stated in the source. Often national or event-wide, not for one map pin.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a precise outbreak coordinate, and not a local case count.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON616

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Source excerpt

The Bundibugyo virus disease (BVD) outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo is in a phase of intense transmission. It is the largest Ebola outbreak ever reported in the country and expanding faster than any previous Ebola outbreak. The epidemic is increasingly characterized by sustained transmission within interconnected geographic clusters. Initially confined to the Mongbwalu health zone in Ituri Province, the outbreak has now expanded to 54 health zones across six provinces (Ituri, North Kivu, South Kivu, Haut-Uélé, Tshopo, and Bas-Uélé). The most recently affected Bas-Uélé province recorded one confirmed case in Buta health zone with travel history to Haut-Uélé and onset of symptoms on 4 August. As of 12 August 2026, a total of 4665 confirmed cases, including 2184 deaths, have been reported, corresponding to a crude case fatality ratio (CFR) of 46.8%.

4,665 cases · 2,184 deaths

Totals as stated in the source. Often national or event-wide, not for one map pin.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a precise outbreak coordinate, and not a local case count.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON615

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Source excerpt

The Bundibugyo virus disease (BVD) outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo is intensifying, with sustained transmission and continued increases in reported cases and deaths. Initially confined to the Mongbwalu health zone in Ituri Province, over the last two months, the outbreak has expanded to five provinces (Ituri, North Kivu, South Kivu, Haut-Uélé and Tshopo), now affecting 49 health zones. The outbreak is now the largest Ebola outbreak ever reported in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. As of 30 July 2026, a total of 3605 confirmed cases, including 1587 deaths, have been reported, corresponding to a crude case fatality ratio (CFR) of 44%.

3,605 cases · 1,587 deaths

Totals as stated in the source. Often national or event-wide, not for one map pin.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a precise outbreak coordinate, and not a local case count.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON614

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Source excerpt

The Bundibugyo virus disease (BVD) outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo remains active, with sustained transmission driving increases in reported cases and deaths. As of 15 July 2026, a cumulative total of 2124 confirmed cases, including 828 deaths, have been reported from the Democratic Republic of the Congo. On 13 July 2026, German authorities informed WHO of a laboratory-confirmed case of Ebola disease caused by Bundibugyo virus in a humanitarian worker from the United States of America who was medically evacuated from the Democratic Republic of the Congo. This is the second United States citizen to be treated in Germany, reflecting the ongoing international response efforts.

2,124 cases · 828 deaths

Totals as stated in the source. Often national or event-wide, not for one map pin.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a precise outbreak coordinate, and not a local case count.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON613

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Source excerpt

The Bundibugyo virus disease (BVD) outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo continues to evolve rapidly, with sustained transmission and increasing numbers of reported cases. As of 1 July, a cumulative of 1460 confirmed cases, including 452 deaths, have been reported from the Democratic Republic of the Congo. As of 2 July, Uganda has reported 20 confirmed cases including two deaths, as well as one probable case who has died. In addition, on 24 June 2026, French authorities notified WHO of a laboratory-confirmed case of Ebola disease caused by Bundibugyo virus in a medical doctor returning from the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

No case total is stated for this card.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a precise outbreak coordinate, and not a local case count.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON612

Nipah virus· high

Source excerpt

On 11 June 2026, the Kerala State Health Department confirmed one laboratory confirmed case of Nipah virus (NiV) infection in Kozhikode district, Kerala State, India. The case is an adult male who developed symptoms on 30 May 2026 and was hospitalized on 10 June 2026. He presented with neurological manifestations and at the time of reporting is on ventilatory support in an intensive care unit (ICU). As of 18 June 2026, a total of 104 contacts had been identified and were under monitoring, including health and care workers, with no reported secondary cases to date.

1 cases

The source describes a single laboratory-confirmed case.

District named in the source. The pin is the city reference point, not a building.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON609

Yellow fever· medium

Source excerpt

Yellow fever is a viral disease found in areas of Africa and the Americas, spread by infected mosquitoes. Following an increase of cases in the Americas in 2025, transmission activity remained into 2026. From 1 January to 26 May 2026, six countries reported a total of 79 human infections along with multiple epizootics, indicating active sylvatic circulation. In Africa, sustained activity continued across parts of the region, affecting 13 high-risk countries (as per classification in the Eliminate Yellow fever Epidemics (EYE) Strategy). From January to May 2026, three countries in Africa reported 16 confirmed human cases, with an additional 32 suspected cases under investigation in five other countries.

No case total is stated for this card.

WHO states 16 confirmed cases in three African countries and 79 confirmed cases in six countries in the Americas, January–May 2026. Those totals are not for one pin.

Country WHO names among those reporting confirmed yellow fever cases, January–May 2026. Geographic center, not an infection site. Regional totals are not a count for this pin.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON610

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Source excerpt

The Bundibugyo virus disease (BVD) outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo continues to evolve rapidly, with sustained transmission and increasing numbers of reported cases. As of 17 June, a cumulative of 896 confirmed cases, including 232 deaths, have been reported from the Democratic Republic of the Congo. As of 18 June, Uganda has reported 19 confirmed cases including two deaths, as well as one probable case who has died. In Uganda, the outbreak remains epidemiologically linked to transmission originating in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, with evidence of both imported infections and secondary transmission among contacts and healthcare workers.

No case total is stated for this card.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a precise outbreak coordinate, and not a local case count.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON608

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Source excerpt

The Bundibugyo virus disease (BVD) outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo continues to evolve rapidly, with increasing case numbers and geographic spread. As of 10 June, a cumulative of 676 confirmed cases, including 136 deaths, have been reported from the Democratic Republic of the Congo. As of 11 June, Uganda has reported 19 confirmed cases including two deaths, as well as one probable case who has died. In Uganda, the outbreak remains epidemiologically linked to transmission originating in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, with evidence of both imported infections and secondary transmission among contacts and healthcare workers. Uganda has not reported any new cases in the past six days.

No case total is stated for this card.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a precise outbreak coordinate, and not a local case count.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON607

Ebola (Bundibugyo virus)· critical

Source excerpt

The Bundibugyo virus disease (BVD) outbreak in the Democratic Republic of the Congo continues to evolve rapidly, with increasing case numbers, geographic spread, and cross-border transmission to Uganda. As of 6 June, a total of 515 confirmed cases, with 91 deaths among these confirmed cases, have been reported from the Democratic Republic of the Congo; Uganda has reported 19 confirmed cases including two deaths, as well as one probable case who has died. In Uganda, the outbreak remains epidemiologically linked to transmission originating in the Democratic Republic of the Congo, with evidence of both imported infections and secondary transmission among contacts and healthcare workers.

No case total is stated for this card.

Administrative center of a province named in the source. Not a precise outbreak coordinate, and not a local case count.

World Health Organization: WHO Disease Outbreak News 2026-DON606